Under HIS Wings6's Blog

Psalm 91:4 HE shall cover you with HIS pinions and under HIS wings you shall trust and find refuge…

A Walk and Talk with Daddy

on October 1, 2010

A couple days ago I was blessed to have a friend take the children off for the day to give me a break and them the experience of hanging out with a dad and his daughter.  What a blessing this was for me and the children.  Not just because I got a rest but because it is my heart’s desire to see my children getting Godly male role models.  My children don’t have an earthly father, though if you ask them who there Daddy is they will be quick to tell you!

While they were gone I decided to go and take a walk at the park.  There as I was getting out of my van, was an older gentleman walking along the track.  As I walked over he slowed up a bit and began some small talk about my van.  He shook my hand and told me his name and that he was 60 years old.  About a fourth of the way around I realized he had a reason for speaking to me which made me smile.  Seemed he was concerned about my eternal state and wanted to be sure I knew Jesus.  He seemed just as thrilled that I did and we continued to walk together.  We talked about the bible and his children and mine.  I asked him to pray for us and promised to do the same for his daughter.  We talked about love and politics and some other seemingly unimportant stuff.  As I was finishing my walk I shook his hand again and thanked him for the talk and the walk and he smiled and said, “I hope I was able to share some wisdom with you.”  I smiled and told him yes and that he made my day!  See what this man did not know is my thoughts.  I had had an adventure with a Godly father figure too.  This must be what it is like to have a Daddy I thought while driving away.  He needed to give his wisdom away and I needed to receive it.  A divine encounter to be sure.  Grateful is my heart to my Heavenly Father for fulfilling two heart’s desires in one divine moment.  I hope some day to run into him again to let him know just what that walk and talk meant to me.  But until then I pray that all his days are as blessed as this day was for me.

4 responses to “A Walk and Talk with Daddy

  1. Alisa says:

    Beautiful, Cindy.

  2. Kimberlee says:

    I love how God always knows just what we need!

Leave a Reply

