Under HIS Wings6's Blog

Psalm 91:4 HE shall cover you with HIS pinions and under HIS wings you shall trust and find refuge…

From Fear to Love

on October 14, 2010

Thinking about love tonight.  If you asked 10 different people what love is to them, you would be sure to get 10 different perspectives on love.  As humans we tend to react from a perspective, in most cases, based on our life experiences which are constantly filtering everything we see, say, hear, and do.  When we have been hurt in a devastating way, a similar situation might cause us to be tempted to run before it plays out.  My thoughts tonight are turned to something I experienced quite a number of years ago, which changed my personal view on loving people.  An encounter with the One Whom is Love and doesn’t just give love.  He being Jesus.  What took place in my heart was the beginning of a work He would be doing over a period of time, but tonight I would like to share a portion of this work with you.

When with a person I am present with them in the moment we are in.  Their past does not matter.  What they did ten years ago, ten days ago or ten minutes ago, does not matter.  I am present with them in the moment we are having, listening for the Lord’s heart for them and for me in the coarse of conversation or circumstance.  Does this mean I will always hear and know perfectly what to say and do?  Of course not.  Does it mean that my own behavior will always portray this?  No. But what is happening in me is always a reckoning that Jesus is present and wants to do something.  This something is love.  If I cant get to this place with Him, then I cannot possibly with the person I am with, and a need is presented in me to go and process and pray through until He has shown me His heart, the person’s need, and my own.   He shows me why I cant break through to love in a moment and what hinders my ability to allow His presence to be made known.  Sometimes it takes longer than other times to come to this place-but for me there is always a seeking until it can be found.

The opposite of love is fear and everything comes from these two emotions.  Would it not be a grand and glorious time for us all if we could express the deep felt swellings of our heart without fear?  It is possible.

1 John 4:18
There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment.  But he who fears has not been made perfect in love.

If I stand in a moment of time with my brother or sister and a disillusionment  causes us some anxiety or adversity to rise in my soul, and fear sets in, then it is a safe bet that there has been a trigger in my inner man that tells me it is time to protect my self.  However, if I immediately take some time to process through what is causing this trigger effect and seek to find if the fear is justified or needs resolving of past issues, then I can respond in love toward the one whom is currently in front of me.   Even if all I can do is to say, I apologize but at the moment I am feeling uneasy and need to process through this, please give me time so I can respond to you in a way that brings life to us both and not pain.  The hard part is realizing that the one to whom you are speaking may not be able to do this because of their own internal conflicts.  Then the best we can do is to be as gentle as possible and walk away. Yet even in this love can abound.

We are told in 1 Corinthians 13:10but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears.  So what keeps us from allowing this to happen.  I believe it is dwelling on wrong thoughts-thoughts driven by the very fears triggered in a given situation.  These fears cause us to seek our own good and not the good of others.  We dwell longer there still and  more pain and fear is produced.  Survival mode steps in and strongholds are developed and oft times it takes years to tear them down again.  It is why we are told to cast down every thought which exalts itself against the knowledge of God.  Put it aside.  Lean into Who HE is and not what we are seeing and hearing.  Jesus is that perfected love.  His love for you is an everlasting hope and comfort and if this is what is present in us then we can turn to our sister or brother and truly be with them and love through the fear presenting itself.  We can love in spite of lies being told, and past pain caused, because our focus is on Jesus and healing them and not on ourselves.  We can be in a state of forgiveness and love even in the midst of being yelled at, if our internal state is peaceful.

There is a time and place for healthy fear to guide us, but what is being spoken of here is fear which keeps you from love.  Tonight I challenge you to recognize within yourself next time you are with someone and you get an uneasy feeling, to take a moment to reflect on whether or not you are in the present moment, or if you are having internal conflict because of past issues.  Readjust, seek the Lord if need be, get alone, confess your faults to a friend, take a deep breath-whatever it takes.  But get to the root, allow healing to take place in you, and move on from fear to love. Time is short.

Oh and by the way, you are loved!

Leave a Reply

