Under HIS Wings6's Blog

Psalm 91:4 HE shall cover you with HIS pinions and under HIS wings you shall trust and find refuge…

My Maker IS My Husband

on November 2, 2010

SING, O barren one, you who did not bear; break forth into singing and cry aloud, you who did not travail with child! For the children of the desolate one will be more than the children of the married wife, says the Lord.

Enlarge the place of your tent, and let the curtains of your habitations be stretched out; spare not; lengthen your cords and strengthen your stakes, For you will spread abroad to the right hand and to the left; and your offspring will possess the nations and make the desolate cities to be inhabited.

Fear not, for you shall not be ashamed; neither be confounded and depressed, for you shall not be put to shame. For you shall forget the shame of your youth, and you shall not [seriously] remember the reproach of your widowhood any more.

For your Maker is your Husband–the Lord of hosts is His name–and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer; the God of the whole earth He is called.

For the Lord has called you like a woman forsaken, grieved in spirit, and heartsore–even a wife [wooed and won] in youth, when she is [later] refused and scorned, says your God.

For a brief moment I forsook you, but with great compassion and mercy I will gather you [to Me] again.

Over the years this passage in Isaiah 54 has brought me to tears.  Tears of pain, tears of triumph, tears of joy.  Time and time again the words are read slowly and carefully and with a hanging on to each and every word as though it were written specifically to remind me His great love and mercy are here holding me and pushing me on into the vast unknown.  Why was the choosing for so many sent in my direction?  I have no husband-and yet…here again it says my Maker IS my Husband.  Yes I realize this was written in a specific time and place for a people, but each time the words roll off my lips His love envelops me with a warmth and tenderness and a compassion.  Sitting here it might appear to some onlooker we are alone and desolate, but the fact remains, He is always with us, never leaving-never turning away.

He gives me children without childbirth, but never without pain.  Tells me to forget the shame of my youth, and to help them do the same.  Again He beckons me to enlarge my heart once more.  To reach out from deep within and be strengthened by His mighty hand.  He declares a broadening of territory, a possessing of nations.  With my eye, can I foresee the possibility many warriors will come forth and proclaim liberty to others held captive? With my spirit the vision is so very clear.  Our past is not our future and because of His blood, shame and reproach can no longer lay claim to our souls.  My Maker IS my Husband-The Lord of Hosts is His name.  See Him standing alongside of us!  He gathers us to him and declares His favor and love.  The Father to the Fatherless and Husband of the desolate.  He calls us out and prepares us a home-no longer refused and scorned, but as His own.  Break forth in singing with cries of joy and triumph and enlarge your tent once more.  From you will come prophets, teachers, and musicians, movie makers, and inventors.  Missionaries, world changers, quiet servants among men.  Creators, sports stars, storytellers, and history makers.  Homemakers, scientists, treasure seekers, and curators.  All of these gathered in under His wings in safety and refuge until their time of reckoning breaks forth and their end outshines their beginnings. They will inhabit the market places, their homes, their cities, their lands and their Father’s great name will be magnified through them.

Therefore, I will do as you have commanded and enlarge the place of my tent, and lengthen my cords and wait to hold those who are coming in to be called my own.  Husband you are here with me and my grief has relented.  Bring them from near and from afar.  You are strong and we are not alone.

Leave a Reply

