Under HIS Wings6's Blog

Psalm 91:4 HE shall cover you with HIS pinions and under HIS wings you shall trust and find refuge…

Who are these kids and why are they calling me Mom?

on March 28, 2011

Who are these kids and why are they calling me Mom?

Years ago some friends bought me a T-shirt that had the above question on it, because it seemed so fitting to my life and even quite funny.  I had only five children at the time, and being that I had adopted some and had many foster children come through my home over the years, the shirt just kind of “fit” who I was.  Today I pulled it out and read it but this time when I read it, the meaning was far greater than just a good laugh.  What I heard was with a sort of different tone.  Who are these kids God has entrusted to me? Who has God created each of them to be?  Why are they calling ME Mom? Why did God give them to me to disciple?  What is it about who each of them are that they needed me as their Mom?  A bit of the fear of the Lord set in as I pondered these questions and wondered have I, am I, training them up in the way THEY should go.  Are each of them being trained to become who God created them by following my example?  Are each of them getting all they need to be more conquerors?  Are they becoming disciples because they are choosing of their own free will, because they have found the love of Jesus in their Mom? Why did God give each of them to me? Friends our children have each been given a purpose to fulfill in this life.  Their purpose is their own, not ours.  Who are these kids and why are they calling me Mom takes on a whole new meaning when considering the finished plan the Lord has for them.  Dear God, I humbly ask you to help me see each of these precious ones with your eyes, and help me to provide the example to train each of them up in the way they should go as individuals with a purpose greater than being my children.  May I daily give them back over to you and your plan for them.  In Jesus Name.

Leave a Reply

